Masayoshi Nakatani’s comeback against Felix Verdejo turned into much more stunning than viewers might’ve realized Saturday nighttime.
The jap lightweight contender didn’t simply overcome the primary two knockdowns of his profession all the way through his ninth-round knockout of Verdejo.
BoxingScene.com has realized that Nakatani suffered a fractured right orbital bone of their scheduled 10-circular battle at MGM Grand convention center in Las Vegas.
X-rays taken at a Las Vegas hospital tested what Nakatani feared to be true, that he sustained an harm corresponding to what he persisted in his 12-circular, unanimous-choice defeat to Teofimo Lopez in July 2019. Nakatani, 31, will check with a professional this week upon returning to Japan to check if surgical procedure is necessary.
Regardless, the hurt Nakatani suffered Saturday night will delay his return to the ring in 2021. The resilient Nakatani (19-1, 13 KOs) hopes his dramatic comeback against Puerto Rico’s Verdejo ultimately results in a rematch with Brooklyn’s Lopez (16-0, 12 KOs), who since has overwhelmed probably the most top-quality boxers in the game, Vasiliy Lomachenko, and won four lightweight world titles.
It originally seemed Saturday nighttime that the 27-year-ancient Verdejo (27-2, 17 KOs) would be the contender to gain momentum towards a shot at Lopez’s championships. He knocked Nakatani to his gloves and knees with a correct hand barely a minute into an interesting stumble upon ESPN aired, however Nakatani survived that obstacle.
Verdejo knocked Nakatani to 1 knee with yet another correct hand 1:13 into the fourth circular, yet Nakatani withstood that flash knockdown, too.
Nakatani trailed on all three scorecards – 78-72, 78-72 and seventy seven-74 – getting into the ninth circular. He got the knockout he essential to win by using sending Verdejo to the canvas twice in that fascinating ninth round.
A jarring jab with the aid of the tall, rangy Nakatani knocked Verdejo into the ropes after which to the canvas with 1:37 to move within the ninth circular. Verdejo answered referee Celestino Ruiz’s count number, but Nakatani straight away floored him once more, this time face first, with a correct hand to the facet of Verdejo’s head.
Ruiz immediately stopped their battle following that 2nd knockdown, at 1:45 of the ninth circular.
Keith Idec is a senior writer/columnist for BoxingScene.com. He will also be reached on Twitter @Idecboxing.